Marijuana Laws by State

States where Recreational and Medical Marijuana are Legal

Since the 1990s, states have been pushing back against federal restrictions on marijuana, and have been going against the DEA’s Schedule 1 classification by allowing marijuna in-state for various purposes.

In 2020, there are now different laws in more than half of all 50 states that allow for some form of Marijuana use. These state laws can be classified as Fully Legalized, Legalized for Medical Use (full or limited), Decriminalized, and Illegal. Some states have made marijuana both legal for medical use and otherwise decriminalized.

Recreational Marijuana States:

States where marijuana is fully legal to possess, use, buy, and sell to people who are over a certain age limit. These states usually also regulate and tax the sale and distribution of marijuana.
Alaska, California, Colorado, Illinois, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Nevada, Oregon, Vermont, Washington, Washington, D.C.

Medical Marijuana States:

States where people are allowed to buy, possess, use, and grow marijuana when they have certain qualified medical conditions and can obtain a “recommendation” from a licensed medical doctor.

Decriminalized Marijuana States:

States that have taken significant action to decriminalize marijuana possession and use.
Nebraska, Mississippi, North Carolina

Criminalized, Prohibited Marijuana States:

States where marijuana is not decriminalized, not allowed for medical patients, and is generally prohibited and illegal. 
 Texas, Alabama, Georgia, South Carolina, Virginia, Kentucky, Indiana, Wisconsin, Kansas, Iowa, South Dakota, Wyoming, Idaho.

Election 2020

In Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, and Oklahoma, advocates are working to gather signatures for similar ballot measures to legalize recreational cannabis use, according to Forbes and data compiled by Ballotpedia.

Mississippi and Idaho could see ballot initiatives approving its medical use.